Tag Archives: August 15

Facts About August 15

1. The Independence Day of India, celebrated on 15 August, is a
holiday commemorating India’s independence from the British rule and its birth as a sovereign nation on 15 August 1947.

2. India achieved independence following the Indian independence movement noted for largely peaceful nonviolent resistance and civil disobedience led by the Indian National Congress.

3. The independence coincided with the partition of India wherein the British Indian Empire was divided along religious lines into two new nations—Dominion of India (later Republic of India) and Dominion of Pakistan (later Islamic Republic of Pakistan); the partition was stricken with violent communal riots.

4. The Independence Day is a national holiday in India.

5. The flagship event takes place in Delhi where the Prime
Minister hoists the national flag at the Red Fort, followed by a nationally broadcast speech from its ramparts.

6. The day is observed all over India with flag-hoisting ceremonies, parades and cultural events.

7. Citizens rejoice the day by displaying the national flag on their attire, household accessories, vehicles; varied activities such as kite flying, bonding with family and friends, and enjoying patriotic songs and films are seen.

The Indian Independence Act’s salient provisions were
I. the division of British India into the two new and fully sovereign dominions of India and Pakistan, with effect from 15 August 1947;

II. the partition of the provinces of Bengal and Punjab between the two new countries;

III. the establishment of the office of Governor-General in each of the two new countries, as representative of the Crown;

IV. the conferral of complete legislative authority upon the respective Constituent Assemblies of the two new countries;

V. the termination of British suzerainty over the princely states, with effect from 15 August 1947, and the right of states to accede to either dominion;

VI. the dropping of the use of the title “Emperor of India” by the British monarch (this was subsequently done by King George VI by royal proclamation on 22 June 1948);

VII. the provision for the division of joint property between the two new countries, including in particular the division of the armed forces.

Tagged , , , ,